Writing is one of the things I always do on my spare time. But you know, I’m not professional. I just make sure that I can use the subject-verb agreement properly. Putting up this blog is an activity of mine to enhance my skills in writing. It is like a practice for me. I have a love and hate relationship with writing. There are times that I am really enthusiastic with writing and no one can interrupt me to write all those ideas popping out of my head. But most of the time, laziness comes in. Times that you are too lazy to write anything. Words are slipping out and no idea at all. When these times are haunting me, I only read quotes pertaining to writing. It inspires me and help me to write creatively.

1. STEPHEN KING – If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.

My say: It’s a good thing to read. Then you can write some thing. Even if it is a simple writing about your day.

2. SYLVIA PLATH – And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.

My say: Have the guts to write. Anything. Work your mind out.

3. WILLIAM FAULKNER – Read, read, read. Read everything — trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You’ll absorb it. Then write. If it’s good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out of the window.

My say: Be a voracious reader.

4. DOUGLAS ADAMS – I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.

My say: Beating the deadline is your goal.

5. BARBARA KINGSOLVER – Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer.

My say: Speak your mind and heart. Let people know what you can offer. Share them your adventure.

 

