This is why writing is important. People should try it more often.

Thought Catalog

1. It makes me more empathic.

There is an old saying about “wearing many hats”; well a writer has to wear many heads. You cannot get away with writing from the outside in; you must learn to live inside another mind. Doing that in writing makes it easy to extend that to your personal life. Questions like “What is this person’s motivation? What drives him or her?” don’t have to be limited to writing workshops or book clubs; these questions also apply to real people in real situations, and understanding that means understanding them.

2. It makes me a better reader.

I’ve always loved to read, but it wasn’t until I began to write seriously that I fully appreciated what a joy a perfectly executed sentence is. I read somewhere that Hunter S. Thompson as a young man used to re-write “The Great Gatsby” line by line to help him…

View original post 568 more words

